Media Advisory – 2022 National NOW Conference

MEDIA ADVISORY                                                                                                                   JULY 14, 2022


Governor JB Pritzker, Lt. Gov. Juliana Stratton, and Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot to Speak at  

National Organization for Women (NOW)’s Annual Conference: Save our Democracy – Vote for Womxn’s Lives! 

July 22-24, 2022, Chicago – Palmer House Hilton Hotel 

CHICAGO – At a time when women’s lives are at stake more than ever, NOW’s annual conference is bringing its members together to find an inclusive way to move our nation forward. The conference is taking place in Chicago, IL with top speakers including Governor JB Pritzker, Lieutenant Governor Juliana Stratton, and Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot. 

The conference theme will be “Save our Democracy – Vote for Womxn’s Lives!” and will be held in Chicago at the Palmer House Hilton Hotel July 22-24. For the first time since the COVID-19 pandemic, the NOW member body will meet in person to vote on resolutions and bylaws, participate in educational workshops, and hear from leaders in the feminist movement. 

WHAT: 2022 National NOW Conference: Save our Democracy: Vote for Womxn’s Lives! 

WHEN: Friday, July 22 to Sunday, July 24 

WHERE: Palmer House Hilton – Grand Ballroom, 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603, US 

MEDIA: If you are interested in attending or connecting to any of our speakers/panelists, please contact    


Full Conference Agenda.  

Additional confirmed speakers and logistical details will be updated here.  

Selected Plenary Speakers 

Friday, July 22, 2022, 9-10:30 a.m. CT 

  • Gov. JB Pritzker (D-IL) 
  • Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky (D-IL) 
  • Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot  
  • President of NOW Christian F. Nunes 
  • Maya Wiley, president and CEO of The Leadership Conference Education Fund 
  • Shree Mehrotra, New Jersey environmental advocate and co-chair of the NOW Young Feminist National Committee 
  • Patti Tototzintle, executive leadership at Esperanza United 
  • Dr. Amiee Julian, director of Illinois Center for Specialized Professional Support 

Friday, July 22, 2022, 2:15 – 3:45 CT 

  • Lt. Gov. Juliana Stratton (D-IL) 
  • Loretta J. Ross, co-founder, Sister Song 
  • Michelle Goodwin, Chancellor’s Professor at the University of California 

Saturday, July 23, 2022, 9:00-10:45 a.m. CT 

  • President, Christian F. Nunes  
  • Vice President, Bear Atwood   
  • Amanda Brown-Lierman Executive Director of Supermajority  
  • Zoe Nicholson Lifetime Achievement Award  
  • Joni Madison President- Human Rights Campaign  
  • Dr. Traci Kurtzer Victoria J. Mastrobuono Award for Women’s Health 

Other Speakers 

Amanda Brown Lierman, executive director of Supermajority 

Loretta Ross, visiting associate professor at Smith College 

Regina Lewis Ward, Georgia State Representative 

Shamaine Daniels, PA-10 candidate 

Terry Cosgrove, president and CEO of Personal PAC 

LaSaia Wade, founder of TNTJ Tennessee Trans Journey Project 

Patricia Ireland, former NOW president 

Brigid Leahy, Planned Parenthood lobbyist 

Mony Ruiz-Velasco, deputy director at Equality Illinois 

Michele Goodwin, author of Policing the Womb  

Terry O’Neill, former NOW president 

Nancy Mullen, executive director of Youth Outlook 

Dr. Kimberly Adams, NOW board member and NOW PAC member 

Ellie Smeal, Feminist Majority president 

Krystal Leaphart, Black Girls Vote 


The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the nation’s leading membership-based advocacy group dedicated to defending women’s rights, advancing equality and combating injustice in all aspects of social, political and economic life. Through educating, mobilizing, and convening a vast network of grassroots activists across the country, NOW advocates for national, state and local policies that promote an anti-racist and intersectional feminist agenda. Since its founding in 1966, NOW has been on the frontlines of nearly every major advancement for women’s rights and continues to champion progressive values today. More about NOW’s efforts and resources is available at 

Contact: Press Team,,