RESOLUTION TO AMEND BYLAWS TO SET NEW ELECTORAL DISTRICTSS

WHEREAS: Article VII € 4 of the National Organization for Women Bylaws sets 6 electoral districts for the purposes of election members of the National Board, and

WHEREAS: Article VII € 4 states: There shall be six electoral districts which shall be drawn every ten years, following publication of the U.S. Census information, by the National Board with the approval of the National Conference. The electoral districts shall have roughly equal numbers of NOW members and such other characteristics as the Board and Conference may approve, and

WHEREAS: The original 6 districts created were as follows:

- Pacific Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington;
- Western Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Wyoming, Utah, Texas
- **Heartland** Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin;
- Southern Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee;
- **Eastern** Delaware, District of Columbia, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, West Virginia;
- Northern Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and

WHEREAS: the Districts, as originally created no longer have roughly equal numbers as shown in the resolved clause below, and

WHEREAS: The Redistricting Committee of the National Board has met and based on the instructions set forth in Article VII ₹ 4 devised a proposed redistricting plan for the electoral districts. The committee prioritized balancing the districts based on membership numbers. The committee also worked to have the districts contain contiguous states wherever possible, and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the NOW Board adopt the following districting plan to take effect at the 2024 Board Elections AND SEND IT TO THE 2023 National Conference as a proposed bylaws amendment:

- Pacific –Alaska, California, Oregon (8,111)
- Western-, Arizona, Colorado), Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming (8,279)
- **Heartland** Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin (9,570)
- Southern Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico (8984)
- Eastern Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia (8430)
- Northern: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont (8453)

Submitted by the National NOW Board Redistricting Committee- approved by the NOW National Board