NOW National Board Meeting Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City National Airport November 9, 2019 Approved Minutes

1. Convene, 10:10 AM, Roll Call

BJ Star, Barbara Miller, Bear Atwood, Beth Corbin, Cheryl Wapes'a-Mayes, Cindy Drabek, Gina Austin-Fresh, Jacqueline Kozin, Jeri Burton (by phone), Jocelyn Morris, John Erickson, Kobby Hoffman, Myra Terry, Nancy Campbell Mead, Nina Ahmad, Victoria Steele

Toni Van Pelt, Christian Nunes

Bonnie Grabenhofer, Eleanor Smeal, Carol Moody (arrived late, 1 p.m.)

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Adopted without objection

- 3. Adoption of Minutes
- July 18, 2019, adopted without objection
- 4. Board Member Action Reports, presented verbally
- 5. President's Report, presented verbally Toni Van Pelt, 11:23 a.m.
- 6. Recess, 11:58 a.m.
- 7. Call to Order, 12:23 p.m.
- 8. Vice President's Report, presented verbally Christian Nunes, 12:24 p.m.
- 9. Racial Justice Summit and Briefing, presented verbally Christian Nunes, 12:50 p.m.
- 10. Recess for working lunch, 1:00 p.m.
- 11. Call to Order, 1:46 p.m.
- 12. Financials, 1:46 p.m.
- Motion by Barb Miller to authorize our president to conduct all financial business with whichever bank, banks or other institutions as she deems to be in the best interests of NOW in coordination with the budget committee. (undoing a previous board motion from 2018, so requires 2/3 vote we will be amending the previous motion) Motion passes (3 opposed)
- 13. Budget, 2:32 p.m.
- Budget adopted by unanimous vote.
- 14. Recess 3:20 p.m.
- 15. Call to Order, 3:28 p.m.
- 16. Communications Report, 3:30 p.m., Kimberly Hayes
- 17. Fundraising Report, 3:45 p.m., Catherine Lampi

18. Political Report, 4:11 p.m., Linda Berg, Pat Reuss, Sara Mitchell, Eleanor Smeal

• Motion to amend the agenda

19. Appointments, 5:27 p.m.

- Victoria Steele (ERA, chair of Violence Against Women), ratified
- Vision for 2020, Gay Bruhn, Chair, ratified
- Global Feminism: Cindy Wolfe Boynton, Anjali Mehrotra, Jan Strout, Toni Van Pelt chair, ratified
- Young Feminist Task Force: Bria Gambaill, Sasha Goodfriend, ratified
- Racial Justice Task Force: Carol Moody, Nina Ahmad, Nina Lasky, Anjali Mehrotra, David Ayodele, Quiana Dickenson, Kevin Powell, Bria Gambaill, Sasha Goodfriend. Kimberly Adams as the new chair. Ratified
- End the Demand: Catherine McKinnon (chair), Tiana Bien Aime, Twiss Butler, Mischa Haider, Max Waltman, Rachel Moran, Chris Stark, Sonia Ossorio, Dorchen Liedholdt, Tika Viteri (temporary appointment, pending her agreement). Ratified
- LGBTQIA+ Committee: Linda Mahoney, Marina Bardon, Melina Farley Barrett, Becky
 Powers, Meredith Meade, John Erickson (chair), Karen Ayres. Ratified. Beth Corbin resigned
 as chair, but remains on the committee.

20. Board Meeting Date

Motion by Toni Van Pelt to hold the next board meeting on February 29 (Saturday) and March 1 (Sunday). Passed.

21. Government Relations Report, 5:47 p.m.

22. Adjourn, 5:59 p.m.

NOW National Board Meeting Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City National Airport November 10, 2019 Draft Minutes

1. Reconvene and Roll Call, 9:50 a.m.

BJ Star, Bear Atwood, Beth Corbin, Cheryl Wapes'a-Mayes, Cindy Drabek, Gina Austin-Fresh, Jacqueline Kozin, Jeri Burton (by phone), Jocelyn Morris, John Erickson, Kobby Hoffman, Myra Terry, Nancy Campbell Mead, Nina Ahmad, Victoria Steele (late)

Toni Van Pelt, Christian Nunes

Bonnie Grabenhofer, Carol Moody, Eleanor Smeal (late, 10:49 a.m.)

Absent: Barbara Miller

- 2. ERA Committee Report, Jeri Burton, 9:52 a.m.
- 3. Resolutions Committee Report, Gina Austin Fresh, 10:05 a.m.
- 4. Racial Justice Committee Report, Christian Nunes, 10:15 a.m.
- Motion by John Erickson to approve the Racial Equity and Inclusion Plan.
- Motion passed by majority vote.
- 5. LGBTQIA+ Committee Report, Bonnie Grabenhofer and John Erickson, 10:33 a.m.
- 6. Structure and Process Report, BJ Star, 10:36 a.m.
- Chair ruled to refer the "LBGTQIA+ Inclusion Resolution" passed at the 2019 conference to the Parliamentarian for review to see if it conflicts with the bylaws.
- Motion by John Erickson that the Board recommend to the Structure and Process Committee that
 they recommend striking Article VII, Section 5, Subparagraph B, Subparagraph 5 plus related
 items from the National Bylaws.
- Motion passed 13 yes; 2 no

7. Conference Bid Proposal Presentations, 11:50 a.m.

- Chicago, Illinois NOW Presentation by Laura Welch
- Columbia NOW (South Carolina) Presentation by Annette Bethel
- Washington NOW Presentation by Terri Lindeke

Motion by John Erickson to extend end time until 1:15 p.m.

Motion by BJ Star to hold 2021 National Conference in Chicago, IL. Passed.

Motion by Christian Nunes to hold 2022 National Conference in Columbia, SC. Passed.

Motion by Gina Austin Fresh to hold the 2023 conference in Seattle, Washington.

Vote failed.

Jacqueline Kozin introduces a resolution:

Whereas Linda Berg has served as the Political Director for NOW for over 20 years, leading the organization's successful political direction, and

Whereas Linda Berg has served the organization with courage, dedication and fierce leadership, and

Whereas Linda Berg has always put NOW and its sister and brother members as her priority, and

Whereas Linda Berg has decided to chart a new course for her career's trajectory...

Therefore be it resolved that NOW and its board members recognize Linda Berg for her service and friendship to this organization, and

Be it finally resolved that Linda Berg must remain connected to this organization for the rest of her life because she is going to be sorely missed.

• Resolution adopted unanimously by Acclamation.

Appointment of Linda Berg to the National Advisory Committee

Ratified.

Meeting adjourned. 1:17 p.m.