National Organization for Women


Sign up:

to choose from our lists

Bookmark and Share Share/Save    email thisSend   printable versionPrint      Shop Amazon
National NOW Times >> Winter 2007  >> Article

Congressional Allies: Women and People of Color Chair Key Committees

January 19, 2007

Sen. Barbara Boxer
Senator Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) will chair the Senate's Environment and Public Works Committee where she will oversee global warming, toxic waste, clean air and water and their effect on the health of our nation.
Former chair: James Inhofe (R-Okla.)

Sen. Diane Feinstein
Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) will chair the Senate Rules Committee where she will oversee congressional organization relative to rules and procedures – including corruption, federal elections, contested elections, etc.
Former chair: C. Trent Lott (R-Miss.)

Sen. Louise Slaughter
Representative Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.) will chair the House Rules Committee where she will oversee the legislative and budget process and determine what bills come to the House floor and which amendments will be allowed.
Former chair: David Dreier (R-Calif.)

Sen. Charlie Rangel
Representative Charlie Rangel (D-N.Y.) will chair the House Ways and Means Committee where he will oversee tax policy, welfare and human needs programs, Social Security and both private and public health care programs such as Medicaid and Medicare.
Former chair: Bill Thomas (R-Calif.)

Sen. Rosa DeLauro
Representative Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.) will co-chair the House Steering and Policy Committee which determines committee assignments and conducts policy analysis.
Former chair: John Shadegg (R-Ariz).

Sen. John Conyers
Representative John Conyers (D-Mich.) will chair the House Judiciary Committee where he will oversee civil rights, violence against women and hate crimes legislation, and any impeachment charges.
Former chair: James Sensenbrenner (Wis.)

Sen. Nydia Velazquez
Representative Nydia Velazquez (D-N.Y.) will chair the House Small Business Committee where she will oversee an area very important to women entrepreneurs, including government programs, taxes and regulations affecting small businesses.
Former chair: Donald Manzullo (Ill.)

Sen. Juanita Millender-McDonald
Representative Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-Calif.) will chair the House Administration Committee where she will oversee the operations of the House.
Former Chair: Now-incarcerated Bob Ney (R-Ohio), who was called the "Mayor of the House."

Sen. Stephanie Tubbs Jones
Representative Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-Ohio) will chair the House Standards of Official Conduct committee where she will oversee and promote ethics rules.
Former chair: Doc Hastings (R-Wash.)

Sen. Nita Lowey
Representative Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.) will chair the Approriation's subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs, where she will join the ranks of "cardinals" who control funding for programs, activities, federal contractors and even bridges to nowhere.
Former chair: Jim Kolbe (R-Ariz.)

These are only a few of the women's rights proponents serving in leadership positions in the 110th Congress. NOW is also pleased that Sen. Ted Kennedy (D-Mass.) will chair the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee and Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) will chair the Senate's Judiciary Committee.

Bookmark and Share Share/Save    email thisSend   printable versionPrint

give to NOW

NOW websites

Say It, Sister! Blog

NOW Foundation


NOW on Campus

stay informed

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Google+ NOW's Flickr Photostream NOW's YouTube Channel
Support NOW with your purchase of print-to-order NOW products! Visit our store
shop amazon Support NOW by shopping at!

Actions | Join - Donate | Chapters | Members | Issues | Privacy | RSSRSS | Links | Home

© 1995-2012 National Organization for Women, All Rights Reserved. Permission granted for non-commercial use.