1996 NOW/PAC Endorsed Candidates

(Updated 10/30/96)

Candidates endorsed by NOW/PAC support reproductive freedom including Medicaid funding for abortions, minors' access to services, and family planning funding; civil rights for all, including lesbian and gay rights, an Equal Rights Amendment to the United States Constitution, affirmative action and equal opportunity programs; programs and funding to fight domestic violence; promoting economic equity for women, including legislation to move women out of poverty, preserving the social safety net and protecting children at risk.

State Candidate District/ Party Office CA Michela Alioto CA 01 D Katie Hirning CA 04 D Lynn Woolsey CA 06 D Nancy Pelosi CA 08 D Ellen Taucher CA 10 D Anna Eshoo CA 14 D Zoe Lofgren CA 16 D Walter Capps CA 11 D Diane Trautman CA 25 D Lucille Roybal-Allard CA 33 D Maxine Waters CA 35 D Rick Zbur CA 38 D Anita Rufus CA 44 D Bob Filner CA 50 D Eq/PAC Geri Schipske St. Ass. D CO Ramona Martinez US Sen D Diana DeGette CO 01 D CT Barbara Kennelly CT 01 D Sam Gejdenson CT 02 D Rosa De Lauro CT 03 D Jim Maloney CT 05 D Charlotte Koskoff CT 06 D FL Corrine Brown FL 03 D Henry Green FL 10 D John Bryon FL 15 D Carrie Meek FL 17 D Peter Deutsch FL 20 D Alcee Hastings FL 23 D GA Cynthia McKinney GA 04 D IL Bobby Rush IL 01 D Luis Gutierrez IL 04 D Rod Blagojevich IL 06 D Stephen de la Rosa IL 06 D Danny Davis IL 07 D Betty Hull IL 08 D Sidney Yates IL 09 D Clem Balanoff IL 11 D Susan Hynes IL 13 D Laurel Prussing IL 15 D Catherine Lee IL 16 D Lane Evans IL 17 D IN Marc Carmicheal IN 02 D Julia Carson IN 10 D Sue Errington IN Sen D KS Sally Thompson US Sen D Judy Hancock KS 03 D KY Steve Beshear US Sen D Mike Ward KY 03 D ME Joseph Brennan US Sen D Tom Allen ME 01 D Eq/PAC Mary Cathcart St. Sen D MD Connie DeJulius MD 02 D MA John Olver MA 01 D James McGovern MA 03 D Barney Frank MA 04 D John Tierney MA 06 D Phillip Johnston MA 10 D MI Debbie Stabenow MI 08 D Lynn Rivers MI 13 D MN Paul Wellstone US Sen D Martin Sabo MN 05 D MO Joan Kelly Horn MO 02 D Ruth Bamberger MO 07 D Emily Firebaugh MO 08 D NH Jeanne Shaheen Gov D Arnie Arnesen NH 02 D NJ Ruth Katz NJ 02 John Leonardi NJ 03 Larry Lerner NJ 07 D Chris Evangel NJ 11 D NM Shirley Baca NM 02 D NY Nora Bredes NY 01 D Carolyn McCarthy NY 04 D Gary Ackerman NY 05 D Jerry Nadler NY 08 D Nydia Velazquez NY 12 D Carolyn Maloney NY 14 D Charles Rangel NY 15 D Nita Lowey NY 18 D Steven James NY 21 D Marty Mack NY 25 D Maurice Hinchey NY 26 D Louise Slaughter NY 28 D NV Bob Coffin NV 01 D David Ward NV 02 D NC Harvey Gantt US Sen D Eva Clayton NC 01 D OH Cynthia Ruccia OH 12 D OR Peter DeFazio OR 04 D Darlene Hooley OR 05 D PA Chaka Fattah PA 03 D Ruth Rudy PA 05 D John Inelli PA 07 D Joe Hoeffel PA 13 D William Coyne PA 14 D TX Sheila Jackson Lee TX 18 D UT Ross Anderson UT 02 D VT Bernie Sanders VT-AL I VA Tom Horton VA 11 D WA Don Stuart WA 01 D Kevin Quigley WA 02 D Brian Baird WA 03 D Glenn Phipps WA 04 D Richard Locke WA 04 D WI Lydia Spottswood WI 01 D Jay Johnson WI 08 D

Go to Voters' Guide